Ohio State nav bar

Professor Terry Wilson Receives AGU's Ivan I. Mueller Award for Distinguished Service and Leadership

September 14, 2023

Professor Terry Wilson Receives AGU's Ivan I. Mueller Award for Distinguished Service and Leadership

Professor Wilson receives SCAR medal


In recognition of her exceptional contributions to geodesy and her dedication to scientific research, Professor Terry Wilson has been awarded the American Geophysical Union's (AGU) Ivan I. Mueller Award for Distinguished Service and Leadership.

A Professor Emeritus at the School of Earth Sciences at The Ohio State University and principal investigator at the Byrd Center, Wilson and her research group and collaborators investigate the structural architecture of Antarctica and the interactions between the solid Earth and the Antarctic ice sheet, using structural field observations, and geophysical and geodetic data.

A pioneer in using GPS to measure bedrock motion in Antarctica, she was instrumental in the deployment of the first continental-scale network of remote, autonomous GNSS and seismic instruments there during the International Polar Year and still heads the Antarctic Network of the Polar Earth Observing Network (POLENET) program.

Wilson has extensive experience working to create and sustain international programs and collaboration and was honored with the 2018 SCAR Medal for International Coordination.

Wilson has led over 25 field expeditions to Antarctica, cumulatively spending over four years 'on the ice' [so far]. At Ohio State, Terry received multiple awards for teaching. She has been influential in training the next generation of Polar scientists, mentoring over 40 students in Antarctic Research, introducing over 50 students and early career scientists to fieldwork in Antarctica, and organizing multiple international training schools on polar science.

The award is named in honor of past AGU Fellow and AGU Smith medalist Ivan I. Mueller for his contributions to international programs that advanced geodesy over the past 50 years. Mueller earned his Ph.D. in Geodesy at The Ohio State University and was a professor and later Chairman of the Department of Geodetic Science. Throughout his career, Mueller was a member of several national academies of sciences, authored many books and scientific papers, and received many national and international honors and awards. Mueller passed away on April 12, 2023, at his home in Bloomfield, CT.

The AGU's Ivan I. Mueller Award serves as a fitting recognition of Professor Wilson's distinguished career and commitment to advancing the geophysical sciences. The award includes a plaque presentation, acknowledgement in AGU's Eos publication, and a complimentary ticket to the Geodesy section event at the AGU Fall Meeting, scheduled to take place in San Francisco, CA, from December 11-15, 2023.

Professor Wilson's achievements are a testament to her dedication to the field and will undoubtedly inspire future generations of geoscientists.

Visit AGU for information about the upcoming meeting.

For information about the award, visit the Ivan I. Mueller Award for Distinguished Service and Leadership and learn more about Terry Wilson.