Ohio State nav bar

Minoring in Earth Science

Students with majors in other areas may find that a minor in Earth Sciences provides sufficient background for employment in the geosciences or in geoscience-related positions in such areas as the petroleum and mining industries, the environmental field, etc.

The School of Earth Sciences offers 8 subprograms in the Earth Sciences minor. Each of the minor programs requires a coherent set of Earth Science courses, in addition to prerequisite courses. The subprograms presently available as minors are:

  • Earth Sciences
  • Geoarchaeology
  • Mineralogy and Petrology
  • Economic Geology
  • Geochemistry
  • Paleontology
  • Environmental Studies
  • Geophysics

See the Minor Program Requirements [pdf] document for the course requirements for each of these programs.  More detailed information on specific minor tracks is available from the School of Earth Sciences (275 Mendenhall Lab), or the College of Arts and Sciences (Denney Hall 100). Minor programs that represent variations from one of the specific minor tracks may be approved by the SES undergraduate advisor (Dr. Karen Royce).


View the two-year course schedule here.


Advising Information

Director of Undergraduate Studies (Earth Sciences): Professor Ann Cook, cook.1129@osu.edu.

Undergraduate Academic Advisor (Earth Sciences): Dr. Karen Royce, royce.6@osu.edu, 614-292-6961

[pdf] - Some links on this page are to Adobe .pdf files requiring the use of Adobe Reader. If you need these files in a more accessible format, please contact earthsciences@osu.edu.