BS Geological Sciences Subprogram

BS Geological Sciences Subprogram

The Geological Sciences subprogram revolves around the study of Earth’s composition, structure, and natural processes, and how these have changed over Earth’s 4.56 billion-year history.

Geoscientists work to understand our planet’s history and current processes using a broad swath of natural and physical sciences. Because their work occurs at the intersection of the biosphere, geosphere, atmosphere, and hydrosphere, geoscientists are in a unique position to help both society and the environment. 

The Geological Sciences Subprogram requires 24 credit hours of courses in addition to the 9-10 credit hours of core courses required for all BS students in the School of Earth Sciences. Like all Earth Science BS Subprograms, Geological Sciences requires the completion of an approved certificate, minor, or any second major. The Geological Sciences Subprogram has a 50% overlap with the School of Earth Sciences' Petroleum Geology and Natural History Museum Curation Certificates, meaning that it is possible to earn one of these certificates with as little as 2 additional courses.


Required Coursework

  1. Preparation for the Major
  2. Geological Sciences Coursework
    1. Required for everyone in the Geological Sciences Subprogram (24 units):
      • EARTHSC 2122: Climate and Life over Billions of Years on Earth (4 units)
      • EARTHSC 4421: Earth Materials (3 units)
      • EARTHSC 4423: Intro Petrology (3 units)
      • EARTHSC 4502: Stratigraphy and Sedimentology (4 units)
      • EARTHSC 4530: Structural Geology (4 units)
      • EARTHSC 5189.01: Field Geology 1 (3 units)
      • EARTHSC 5189.02: Field Geology 2 (3 units)
  3. Core required courses (7-10 units):
    • EARTHSC 2000: Preparation for Thesis and Careers in Earth Sciences (1 unit)
    • EARTHSC 2245: Introductory Data Analysis for Earth and Environmental Sciences (4 units)
    • EARTHSC 4999.01: Undergraduate Research for Thesis in Earth Sciences (1 unit, graded)
    • EARTHSC 4999.02 (H): Undergraduate Research for Thesis in Earth Sciences (0-3 units, satisfactory/unsatisfactory)
  4. Complete at least 1 course focused on the Science of Sustainability (if not fulfilled in the preparation for the major) (3-4 units):
    • EARTHSC 2122 (L): Climate and Life over Billions of Years on Earth (4 units)
    • EARTHSC 2155: Energy and Environment (3 units)
    • EARTHSC 2203: Environmental Geoscience (3 units)
    • EARTHSC 2204: Exploring Water Issues (3 units)
    • EARTHSC 2206 (S): Principles of Oceanography (3 units)
    • EARTHSC 2210: Energy, Mineral Resources, and Society (3 units)
    • EARTHSC 3411: Water Security for the 21st Century (3 units)
    • EARTHSC 4425: Energy Resources and Sustainability (3 units)
    • EARTHSC 4911: Earth’s Climate: Past and Future (3 units)
    • EARTHSC 5663: Global Change and Sustainability (4 units)
    • ENR 2100: Introduction to Environmental Science (3 units)
    • ENR 5451: Water Policy and Governance (3 units)


The state of Ohio does not license Geologists; however, if you plan to pursue licensure or certification in a state other than Ohio, please review state educational requirements for licensure and certification and state licensing board contact information at Office of Distance Education and eLearning- State Authorizations for Students


Course schedule for the current year can be found here.


Advising Information

Director of Undergraduate Studies (Earth Sciences): Professor Ann Cook,

Undergraduate Academic Advisor (Earth Sciences): Dr. Karen Royce,, 614-292-6961