

## September 2012 News Notes

- Shell Undergraduate Research Experience internship program & poster session
- Professor Emeritus Stig Bergstrom receives award
- Brevia

## Shell Undergraduate Research Experience internship program & poster session

The 8-week SURE program requires generous help given by faculty and staff of SES who provide workshops and field trips for the SURE students. This year's workshops were led by professors and staff members Scott Bair, Anne Carey, Ann Cook, Jeff Daniels, Stephanie Konfal, Mary Scott, Sue Welch, and Terry Wilson. Faculty members who served as research mentors to the 14 SURE interns were Bill Ausich, Scott Bair, Anne Carey, Yo Chin, Dave Cole, Ann Cook, Andréa Grottoli, Berry Lyons, Wendy Panero, and Ralph VonFrese. Earth Sciences Ph.D. candidate Jamison Scott served as graduate assistant for the program.

The culmination of the 2012 Shell Undergraduate Research Experience (SURE) was a poster session on Thursday, August 9 in 291 Mendenhall Laboratory when the 14 undergraduate students in the School of Earth Sciences presented posters on their summer research. Pictured (left to right) are: Alex Rytel, Anne Carey, Ted Godo (B.S. 1977, M.S. 1979, Shell), Eric Parker, Victor Perez, Jake Harrington, Brad Hull, Jacqueline Mills, Zach Phillips, Kelsey Dailey, Jeff Thompson, Billy Eymold, Edwin Buchwalter, Jordan Scheuermann, Chad Clendenin, Derek Kackley, and Patrick Jackson (Shell). Visitors at the poster session included dozens of Earth Sciences faculty, staff, and students who kept the SURE students busy for the entire poster session discussing their research.



Distinguished visitors at the poster session included Divisional Dean Peter March and Executive Dean of the Arts and Sciences, Joe Steinmetz, pictured below talking about crinoids with Pat Jackson and Jeff Thompson. Senior Associate Vice President Jan Weisenberger of the Office of Research, strong advocate for undergraduate research, talked with many of the students and is shown with Jacqueline Mills discussing her poster on induced seismicity.



## Professor Emeritus Bergström receives IUGS award

Professor Emeritus Stig Bergstrom received the International Union of Geological Sciences Digby McLaren Stratigraphy Award at the 34th International Geologic Congress, in Brisbane, Australia on August 6. The award was presented with the following commendation: "Prof. Bergström's scientific contributions have been immense and have evolved through his career, which can be summarized as follows: specialist on Ordovician conodonts, then Ordovician biostratigraphy worldwide, and conodont paleobiogeography and paleoecology; with Walt Sweet firmly established multi-element taxonomy for conodonts; integrated graptolite and conodont biostratigraphies for the Ordovician; long-time voting member and officer of ICS Subcomission on Ordovician Stratigraphy, led group that established links between major bentonite successions in Ordovician-Silurian successions of eastern-midwestern North America, Scandinavia, and Argentine Precordillera; contributed significantly to establishment of carbon isotope stratigraphy for much of Ordovician. Congratulations, Professor Bergstrom!



## Brevia

On August 1, Lonnie Thompson and Ellen Mosley-Thompson did a live interview on "The Frozen History of Climate Change" for the Christine Amanpour show for CNN International in New York. You can see their interview here.

On August 3rd Lonnie Thompson gave the Opening Keynote: "The Greatest Challenge of Global Climate Change" for the Association for Behavior Analysis International conference held at OSU on August 3rd to 5th.

Professor Ann Cook received Department of Energy funding for her proposal, "A new approach to understanding the occurrence and volume of natural gas hydrate in the Northern Gulf of Mexico using petroleum industry well logs," submitted to the Methane Hydrate Program. Congratulations, Ann!

Museum curator Dale Gnidovec asked us to draw attention to the new OhioRocks! license plates. From the announcement: "The sale of this new plate, which is now available through the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV), will benefit a newly created Earth Science Education and Outreach Fund. The fund will support research on Ohio geology performed students earning degrees. With these grants, young people can study Ohio geology. Additionally, a portion of the funds will be dedicated to providing educational outreach to Ohio's K–12 schools in support of earth science. The new plates can be ordered from the specialty plates portion of the Ohio BMV website at www.oplates.com (listed as Geology "Ohio Rocks") and at local deputy registrars."

Finally, in the photo below, Professor Anne Carey, faculty advisor to Women in Science and Math Club greets OSU president Gordon Gee at the Club's ice cream social to begin the new academic year.

